Guru Nanak Darbar

Jo Bolle So Nihal Sat Sri Akal

Sadh Sangat ji

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa, Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh!

With the divine blessings of Waheguru and the unwavering support of our beloved Sangat, we joyfully celebrate the success of our inaugural diwan on January 1, 2023. Your vibrant participation filled our hearts with joy and hope, and we eagerly anticipate your continued presence in all our future endeavors.

We are excited to announce our daily Nitnem prayers, which will commence at 6 am, as well as our Rehras Saheb Path at 7 pm. We warmly invite each and every one of you to join us in these spiritual gatherings, as your presence is a source of strength and unity within our community.

Guru Nanak Darbar stands committed to providing a sacred sanctuary for worship and reflection, nurturing the spiritual growth of our Sangat. As a non-profit organization registered with the State of Texas and recognized as an IRS 501(c)(3) organization, we are dedicated to serving the needs of our community, both spiritually and holistically.

Together, let us continue on this sacred journey, strengthening our bond with Waheguru and one another. Your presence and support make all the difference.

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa, Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh!

Bani Vichaar

Experiencing God through Shabad


Your donation today and your help inspire others to donate tomorrow.

Langar Seva

Book Online

Useful Links

Get to know more about Sikhism all over the World

Significance of Sikhism

Sikhism (/ˈsɪkɪzəm/) or Sikhi (Punjabi: ਸਿੱਖੀ Sikkhī, [ˈsɪkːʰiː], from ਸਿੱਖ, Sikh, ‘disciple’, ‘seeker’, or ‘learner’) is a monotheistic and panentheistic religion that originated in the Punjab region of the Indian subcontinent around the end of the 15th century CE. Sikhism is one of the youngest of the major religions and the world’s fifth-largest organized religion, with about 30 million Sikhs as of the early-21st century.

Sikhism developed from the spiritual teachings of Guru Nanak, the first Guru (1469–1539), and of the nine Sikh gurus who succeeded him. The tenth guru, Gobind Singh (1666–1708), named the Sikh scripture Guru Granth Sahib as his successor, bringing to a close the line of human gurus and establishing the scripture as the eternal, religious spiritual guide for Sikhs. Guru Nanak taught that living an “active, creative, and practical life” of “truthfulness, fidelity, self-control and purity” is above metaphysical truth, and that the ideal man “establishes union with God, knows His Will, and carries out that Will”. Guru Hargobind, the sixth Sikh Guru (1606–1644), established the concept of mutual co-existence of the miri (political/temporal) and piri (spiritual) realms.

The Sikh scripture opens with the Mul Mantar (ਮੂਲ ਮੰਤਰ), fundamental prayer about ik onkar (ੴ, ‘One God’). The core beliefs of Sikhism, articulated in the Guru Granth Sahib, include faith and meditation on the name of the one creator; divine unity and equality of all humankind; engaging in seva (‘selfless service’); striving for justice for the benefit and prosperity of all; and honest conduct and livelihood while living a householder’s life. Following this standard, Sikhism rejects claims that any particular religious tradition has a monopoly on Absolute Truth.

Sikhism emphasizes simran (ਸਿਮਰਨ, meditation and remembrance of the words of God), which can be expressed musically through kirtan, or internally through naam japna (‘meditation on His name’) as a means to feel God’s presence. It teaches followers to transform the “Five Thieves” (i.e. lust, rage, greed, attachment, and ego).

The religion developed and evolved in times of religious persecution, gaining converts from both Hinduism and Islam. Mughal rulers of India tortured and executed two of the Sikh gurus—Guru Arjan (1563–1605) and Guru Tegh Bahadur (1621–1675)—after they refused to convert to Islam. The persecution of Sikhs triggered the founding of the Khalsa by Guru Gobind Singh in 1699 as an order to protect the freedom of conscience and religion, with members expressing the qualities of a Sant-Sipāhī—a ‘saint-soldier’.

read more…